Thread forming taps

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

Mr Ron

Thread forming taps

Post by Mr Ron »

Hi, This is my first visit to this forum. I need to tap about (60) 4-40 threads in alum, 6061. I bought a thread forming tap, but have no experience with forming taps. I have regular cutting taps, but I thought a forming tap might go faster. The only thing I know is the tap drill size is larger, #38.
How do I use this type of tap?
Can I drive it with a cordless drill or just hand tap it?
Do I need to back it out every 1/2 turn like with cutting taps?
Do I need to use a lubricant?
SteveM

Post by SteveM »

I'm no expert (never used forming taps), but the reason for backing out a regular tap is to clear the chips. Forming taps have no chips, so no need to back out.

I've heard lubricants are necessary, and it sounds like that makes sense, given the rubbing forces involved. Not sure what you use, but it might not be a cutting fluid, as you are not cutting .

It may be better with a drill press, as you can be sure that the tap is going in straight, although the hand drill with one of those tap aligner devices might work.

Steve
jutz

Post by jutz »

There is no need to back the tap up periodically.

You definitely need a lubricant, but not a cutting oil. I've found that way lube works quite well. So does 75W-90 synthetic hypoid gear lube. I imagine most any heavy oil designed for high pressure applications will work. I've also had success with a moly-graphite grease but it was a pain to clean out of the threads afterward.