A delayed introduction

Topics include, Machine Tools & Tooling, Precision Measuring, Materials and their Properties, Electrical discussions related to machine tools, setups, fixtures and jigs and other general discussion related to amateur machining.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

WJH

A delayed introduction

Post by WJH »

Sorry for the late introduction.
My name is Bill, and I love steam locomotives.
As for my screen name, RB211 is a Rolls Royce 3 stage hi bypass gas turbine engine that L1011's, 757's, and 747's use.

My profession is that of a Pilot. I fly cargo in a Cessna 210. Past few days I drove all the way from South West Florida where I was living to Oakland California, where I now live thanks to my current employer.

Sorry to say my machine shop and tools are all in Florida, and some are in NY... See a pattern here? I am only 29 years old, so I have to pay my dues, and my passion of playing in the workshop building steam locomotives will have to wait until I have my own house one day...

On the flip side, I find some peace with myself by virtually building locomotives in Solid Works. Hence the desire for locomotive drawings.

As for tools, I have an X3, SB9, Lathemaster 8x14, X1, and a Taig lathe.
In the past I have owned 9x20 and a 7x14.

I like to soak in information like a sponge and have been building a notebook of notes from all the helpful tips I read on this forum and others. Least I can do to keep my sanity from withdrawal of my tools.

Sometimes I question if I picked the right career, living all over the country.
Mark Hockett

Post by Mark Hockett »

Welcome to the forum! There are many here who enjoy live steam locomotives so you should fit right in. the Bay Area has a great live steam club , Golden Gate Live Steamers, and track in Tilden Regional Park.
Mark Hockett
CarlD

Post by CarlD »

Ummm, the Cessna 210 is nice but my favorite is the 310. I suppose the 210 is much better for hauling freight and more economical.
It's only ink and paper.