What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: Harold_V, GlennW

User avatar
neanderman
Posts: 623
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:15 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by neanderman » Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:49 pm

I would think a BXA would be fine. My 15" was on the border, so I got a CXA.
Ed

Le Blond Dual Drive
US-Burke Millrite MVI
Atlas 618
Files, snips and cold chisels

Proud denizen of the former "Machine Tool Capitol of the World"

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5142
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by Bill Shields » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:35 pm

bxa IS what you want.

User avatar
TimTheGrim
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 2:47 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by TimTheGrim » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:10 pm

I had a wedge type AXA on my old Rockwell 10x24. When I upgraded to my new ENCO 13x40, I kept the post and it has worked just fine. It’s an ENCO. I’m not gonna be doing any of the job shop hogging I used to do on LaBlond or Cincinnati set ups so the extra footprint and bulk of the BXA isn’t needed in my home shop. As mentioned earlier the visibility is also better when working on smaller stuff.
Illigitimi non Carborundum
'96 Birmingham mill, Enco 13x40 GH and Craftsman 6x18 lathes, Reid 2C surface grinder. Duro Bandsaw and lots of tooling from 30+ years in the trade. Now I boil oil.

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5142
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by Bill Shields » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:21 pm

it isn't always a case of visibility but one of center height.

if the post is too small (AXA for example), on some machines you cannot set the block HIGH ENOUGH to put the tool on center.

I have a 15" south bend with a BXA...that has a 3/4" block under the dovetail unit so that I can put the tools at the correct height and still have the entire dovetail engaged.

User avatar
wlw-19958
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Lewes, DE

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by wlw-19958 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:46 pm

Hi There,

I own a couple lathes and I have AXA on my 11" Logan and
it is the right size for it. My 12" Clausing came with an AXA
tool post but it needed a 1/2" spacer plate under it to get it
up high enough to work. I replaced it with a BXA I had and
that works fine (without spacer). I just need to get some
more tooling blocks for my BXA.

Good Luck!
-Blue Chips-
Webb

mcman56
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 2:30 pm
Location: Roseville, CA

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by mcman56 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:28 pm

I followed the advice and bought a set from all industrial. I have not got it set up but by appearance they are a very good value. Thanks

Inspector
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by Inspector » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:32 am

Is there a simple dimensioned drawing of the sizes of the different tool holders to make it easier to select tools that fit?

User avatar
neanderman
Posts: 623
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 7:15 pm
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by neanderman » Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:10 am

Ed

Le Blond Dual Drive
US-Burke Millrite MVI
Atlas 618
Files, snips and cold chisels

Proud denizen of the former "Machine Tool Capitol of the World"

Inspector
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:25 am
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada

Re: What Size Quick Change for Enco 13 x 40?

Post by Inspector » Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:49 am

Yes. Thank you.

Pete

Post Reply