Maximat Compact 10" MQ-3100 Lathe Build

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

71 Torino

Maximat Compact 10" MQ-3100 Lathe Build

Post by 71 Torino »

Hello,
I would like to introduce myself, my name is Jeff and I am a noob at forums and these sorta things. I did work in a tool and die shop for a little bit. Always enjoyed working on anything metal so I decided to start a little machine shop at home. I started off with a Craftsman/Dunlap 109 followed by a couple of Taig lathes and thought I should step up to something a little larger and more professional. I found this lathe and everything on Kijiji for $250 Canadian (about $192 American) I thought it was a pretty sweet deal. Unfortunately after I got it home I realized that there is hardly any information about these lathes and not much in the way of parts. As far as I know the only part I am missing is the 1 larger belt guard. All the manuals I was able to find either have the bottom of the pages missing or is in a different language. So if anyone has one of these machines or has any information that would be great. I do have a beautiful sales brochure with poster that I could scan if anyone is interested. I plan on tearing apart the lathe over time and cleaning it up and painting it with Hammerite and having the stand sand blasted and painting it as well.
My first set of questions is, what do you guys use for degreasing and cleaning your machines. There is a bit of surface rust on the ways under the chuck, what would you guys recommend for cleaning this or should I send the ways off to be ground?
Thanks,
Jeff
Attachments
20140916_161247.jpg
20140916_161841.jpg
20140916_161235.jpg
20150727_141522.jpg
20150727_141613.jpg
John Evans

Re: Maximat Compact 10" MQ-3100 Lathe Build

Post by John Evans »