Adding a QC gearbox to Logan 200 lathe

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: Harold_V, GlennW

Post Reply
John in OH
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:56 am

Adding a QC gearbox to Logan 200 lathe

Post by John in OH » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:14 pm

I'm probably re-plowing old ground here, but does anyone have any experience adding a quick-change (QC) gearbox to an older Logan 200 (10") lathe? Would a QC gearbox from a Logan 815/820/825 physically fit? I assume it may be necessary to modify the gearing in the headstock to get the right feed or threading rates so would that be a problem?

Also, wondering if a gearbox from a 10" Atlas or South Bend could be made to fit with a "reasonable" amount of work? I've seen a lot more non-Logan lathe QC gearboxes on eBay than Logans. Any and all thoughts, comments, or suggestions appreciated!

martik777
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 11:24 am
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada

Re: Adding a QC gearbox to Logan 200 lathe

Post by martik777 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:27 pm

Try asking here: https://groups.io/g/Lathe-List/topics

I stopped using my South Bend 9A QCGB (except for threading) and reversing lever after installing a variable speed reversible DC motor to the leadscrew.

shorttrackhack
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 4:38 pm
Location: SoCal

Re: Adding a QC gearbox to Logan 200 lathe

Post by shorttrackhack » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:12 pm

I have a really nice QCGB from a Logan 12, if you are interested...

Post Reply