Newbie - Buying first metal lathe

All discussion about lathes including but not limited to: South Bend, Hardinge, Logan, Monarch, Clausing and other HSM lathes, including imports

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

dbfletcher

Newbie - Buying first metal lathe

Post by dbfletcher »

I'm about to purchase my first metal lathe. I am a total newbie but think this will be a great new hobby/skill for me.

I think i have narrowed it down between these two Little Machine Shop machines:

https://littlemachineshop.com/5200

and

https://littlemachineshop.com/3595

I'm most likely going to get the "deluxe" version of one of those machines. My question to you all is... is the slight increase in working envelope of the 3595 and the "double" the power of the motor worth the $1200 in additional cost of the 3595? Or would that money be better spent on tooling and accessories? I dont want to get something i'll outgrow quickly... but I'm also in the point of my life that the money isnt really the greatest factor. I dont want to spend money foolishly, but on the flip side... if the larger machine is worth it just in greater rigidity and power, i'd probably rather start there then get the smaller version and kick myself in a year or two for struggling with limitations in the smaller machine. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I also intend on getting a mill in a year or so.. and then anther year down the road convert it to a cnc machine (leading candidate for that is the Grizzly G0704 right now)

Thanks,

Doug
SteveHGraham

Re: Newbie - Buying first metal lathe

Post by SteveHGraham »

Mini-lathes are a pain to use. You can do good work with them, but you need to know what you're in for. You really want a quick change gear box for threading.

Personally, I think 12 x 36 is a good place to start, if you can manage the cost.