Grizzly mini-mill & resonance?

Discussion on all milling machines vertical & horizontal, including but not limited to Bridgeports, Hardinge, South Bend, Clausing, Van Norman, including imports.

Moderators: GlennW, Harold_V

DianneB

Grizzly mini-mill & resonance?

Post by DianneB »

I have a Grizzly mini-mill that I bought a few years ago but hadn't used much until recently. I am an absolute novice with vertical mills and could use some advice.

When using an end milling cutter, particularly when taking less than a full cut, I sometimes get a vibration (resonance?) that gets kind of scary and, in worst case, the vibration causes something to slip/move. It seems to be a resonance with the "natural frequency of the mill".

Other than changing the RPM of the cutter, is there anything I can do to help reduce the resonance of the mill?
NP317

Re: Grizzly mini-mill & resonance?

Post by NP317 »

Change cut-depth, RPM, or feed speed. All effect vibration.
And make sure you lock all mill axis that you are not moving.
~RN
John Hasler

Post by John Hasler »

In addition to what RN said if anything ever slips you aren't clamping well enough.
John Evans

Post by John Evans »

Make sure all gibs are correctly adjusted. Lock axis not in use and put a light drag on the axis in use.Use conventional milling only not climb.
www.chaski.com
Inspector

Post by Inspector »

Sometimes packing plasticine on areas not being cut will absorb the vibrations.

Pete
jcfx

Post by jcfx »

Adding to the above, a dull end mill will introduce vibrations.

I was guilty on some of the above, too fast, too deep
and as the end mill dulled vibrations crept in.
:oops:
tornitore45

Post by tornitore45 »

What do you mean with full cut? I hope you are not expecting to take the full length of the flutes. A mini mill can only take passes on the order of 0.05 in steel and 0.15 in Al.
Mauro Gaetano
in Austin TX
DianneB

Post by DianneB »