Drilling out coupler shanks

Where users can chronicle their builds. Start one thread and continue to add on to it.

Moderator: Harold_V

Busdriver

Drilling out coupler shanks

Post by Busdriver »

I have the 5/16” holes drilled into the frame built to Tom Bee specs. Now for the question. I have older Tom Bee couplers that haven’t been drilled and have no dimples or marks in the castings to tell me where to drill for the proper swing. Can anyone tell me how far out from the frame tube the couplers should extend. This is my first attempt at car building. Thanks to everyone. Should I use a 5 1/16 bit and 1/4” bolt ?
Attachments
2AF34D60-70F5-4F75-9EE4-7C7D10CDDCD3.jpeg
688F80BA-F01D-4C19-8294-0A78CE24BE05.jpeg
rkcarguy

Re: Drilling out truck shanks

Post by rkcarguy »

I used 3/8" bolts through my couplers, and have 1" of the shank exposed beyond the end of the rectangle tube.
If you don't have very sharp turns on your RR, you can probably have less protrusion. I'm modeling in 2" scale on 12" gage with 40' radius curves, so thought I might need a little more room between the cars.
jeffsmith

Post by jeffsmith »

I would use a 5/16" bolt. Drill 21/64" hole.
Glenn Brooks

Re: Drilling out truck shan

Post by Glenn Brooks »

The hole in the coupler (and the frame mounting hole) needs to have at least one diameter of material between the edge of the hole and edge of material, for rigidity, strength, and long term wear. 2-3x is better, at least fore and aft. So if you choose say a 3/8” diameter bolt to secure coupler to frame/pocket, center the hole in the coupler at least 6/8” (3/4”) from the back edge of the coupler. This way, you can use any reasonable diameter size bolt to secure your coupler. For 7.x gauge I would think 5/16” hardened bolt is a minimum size you would want to use. You could easily go up to 3/8”, even 7/16” for greater strength, (repetitive shock load resistance) and longevity.