12" working railroad

Discuss park gauge trains and large scale miniature railways having track gauges from 8" to 24" gauge and designed at scales of 2" to the foot or greater - whether modeled for personal use, or purpose built for amusement park operation or private railroading.

Moderators: Glenn Brooks, Harold_V

Forum rules
Topics may include: antique park gauge train restoration, preservation, and history; building new grand scale equipment from scratch; large scale miniature railway construction, maintenance, and safe operation; fallen flags; track, gauge, and equipment standards; grand scale vendor offerings; and, compiling an on-line motive power roster.
rkcarguy

12" working railroad

Post by rkcarguy »

I'm a noob here, 2nd post!
I purchased some land last year and am in the process of getting a small home put on it in Washington State.
I've always been into trains since I was a kid, and had initially...and I may still, planned on putting up a pole building and re-erecting my HO scale layout in the upstairs.
The land I purchased is heavily treed. I'll have wood heat in the house and will be dealing with firewood on a regular basis. Plus, the driveway is about 250' long and my lower back is not going to endure dragging a garbage can up and down it, or lifting it up and down from the back of my truck. Initially I started looking for a utility type 4-wheeler, then the light bulb came on in my head....it's time for the firewood and garbage express!

Feasibility:
My lot has some decent slope to it, so I was concerned with the grades I had to deal with. Initial "survey" said 5% which isn't going to work.
Through google earth, I was able to create a path, save it, and "view elevation profile", and through some trial and error come upon a route that will yield less than 3.5% grades. So this will work, but I'll need some good motive power and traction obviously....and good brakes!

Background: