3d Model, Semaphore Signal

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

User avatar
ChuckHackett-844
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:54 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida

3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by ChuckHackett-844 » Tue Sep 20, 2022 1:03 pm

I want to construct a detailed, 2.5" scale semaphore signal of the type that had the actuating motor mounted on the head itself (i.e.: not in the 'base' cabinet).

To that end, I am looking for detailed, dimensioned drawings or, in an ideal world, a 3D model (stl, etc.) of one. I'm willing to pay a reasonable fee for a detailed 3D model.

Thingiverse and many other 3D sites had nothing ...

I don't need info on the mechanism, just info to scale and 3D print the external parts, housing, blade, etc.

I am not particular about year or manufacturer.

Feel free to PM me directly.
Regards,

Chuck Hackett, UP Northern 844, Mich-Cal Shay #2
Owner, MiniRail Solutions, RR Signal Systems (http://www.MiniRailSolutions.com)
"By the work, One knows the workman"

User avatar
PRR5406
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:12 pm
Location: Eastern Maine

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by PRR5406 » Tue Sep 20, 2022 5:00 pm

Have you Googled the Railroad Signal page? Lots of drawings of semaphore internals there. Youtube has some great video as well.
"Always stopping my train, and risking my ankles, with American made, New Balance sneakers."

User avatar
ChuckHackett-844
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:54 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by ChuckHackett-844 » Tue Sep 20, 2022 6:35 pm

Yes, I did a lot of Googling and did find that page but, with the exception of the spectacle and blade I did not find detailed drawings of other parts with dimensions. There is a cut-away of the motor housing but not enough to model.

I watched the videos that show them working but no details of their construction.
Regards,

Chuck Hackett, UP Northern 844, Mich-Cal Shay #2
Owner, MiniRail Solutions, RR Signal Systems (http://www.MiniRailSolutions.com)
"By the work, One knows the workman"

User avatar
Atkinson_Railroad
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by Atkinson_Railroad » Wed Sep 21, 2022 9:10 am

The attached screenshot photo can be found at this URL:

http://www.chartertoconductor.com/wp-co ... s-1948.pdf

John
Attachments
GRS 2A.JPG

User avatar
Atkinson_Railroad
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by Atkinson_Railroad » Wed Sep 21, 2022 11:03 am

Attempted to attach a PDF that shows the difference between the A.C. unit and the D.C. unit
of the GRS 2-A mechanism but the chaski site didn't like the PDF.

The A.C. unit has a little more depth to it measuring 19 inches compared to the D.C. unit shown in the earlier screen shot which is 17 inches.

So, for the extra 2 inches... I'd be modeling the A.C. unit ; )

John

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 8276
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by Bill Shields » Wed Sep 21, 2022 6:59 pm

Considering the complexity of the mechanisms...one has of ask "how many of these semaphores we're built" before they made a profit on the investment?
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

mspetersen
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:26 pm

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by mspetersen » Thu Sep 22, 2022 9:03 pm

Try this site: http://www.rrsignalpix.com/documents.php He's a RR signal junkie with a large personal collection of signal apparatus.
Mark Petersen

12" x 36" Logan Lathe

kcameron
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 4:23 pm
Location: Syracuse New York

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by kcameron » Fri Sep 23, 2022 6:09 am

Chuck,

Since you are planning on using a motor in the mast head, the physical size and shape of that will impact your design somewhat. Or do you think you have a motor that is going to way smaller than what they used? Since you are in 2.5" scale, which materials are you using for the moving parts like the arm and lenses? That mass could directly impact the motor.
-ken cameron
Syracuse Model Railroad Club http://www.SyracuseModelRr.org/
CNY Modelers http://www.cnymod.com/
Finger Lakes Live Steamers http://www.fingerlakeslivesteamers.org/
Member JMRI Developer Team http://www.jmri.org/
mailto: kcameron@twcny.rr.com
In the Upstate New York US area of the world

User avatar
Adirondack
Posts: 408
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 6:59 pm
Location: southern CT

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by Adirondack » Fri Sep 23, 2022 7:54 am

2022-09-23 08_53_32-semaphore with tall finial.3dm - MoI.png
Adirondack Car & Foundry
Check out our projects: https://www.facebook.com/ADKrail/
Visit our ALL-NEW online store: https://adirondackcarfoundry.square.site/

A little locomotive with 4 wheels on the track is a lot more fun
than a 1/2 finished one with 16 wheels on the bench!

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 8276
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by Bill Shields » Fri Sep 23, 2022 8:21 am

this is one of those iterative engineering processes:

you have to calculate mass / moment of what is moving, then pick a motor and see if it will work and fit.

If not -> start over...

there is a very good reason for all of the gears inside these units....
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

User avatar
ChuckHackett-844
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:54 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by ChuckHackett-844 » Fri Sep 23, 2022 8:34 am

Atkinson_Railroad wrote:
Wed Sep 21, 2022 9:10 am
The attached screenshot photo can be found at this URL:

http://www.chartertoconductor.com/wp-co ... s-1948.pdf

John
Thanks John, lots of interesting info there!

It never ceases to amaze me the complexity or the relay diagrams I see for signal systems. I know that there are people who can do this in their sleep.

I can write code that does some amazing stuff but, after you connect 10-15 relays together, I find it mind boggling and a nightmare to maintain. If you want to reconfigure something you have to tear into a relay rack never to be seen again. In software I can change a couple of lines in the configuration file, download it into all the processors and done ...

Different strokes for different folks! :D
Regards,

Chuck Hackett, UP Northern 844, Mich-Cal Shay #2
Owner, MiniRail Solutions, RR Signal Systems (http://www.MiniRailSolutions.com)
"By the work, One knows the workman"

User avatar
ChuckHackett-844
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 3:54 pm
Location: Tampa, Florida

Re: 3d Model, Semaphore Signal

Post by ChuckHackett-844 » Fri Sep 23, 2022 8:41 am

kcameron wrote:
Fri Sep 23, 2022 6:09 am
Chuck,

Since you are planning on using a motor in the mast head, the physical size and shape of that will impact your design somewhat. Or do you think you have a motor that is going to way smaller than what they used? Since you are in 2.5" scale, which materials are you using for the moving parts like the arm and lenses? That mass could directly impact the motor.
My eventual plan is to do it in various scales which is why I am starting with a 3D model which can be scaled at will.

In my usage low current consumption is very important.

Materials used and mechanism will vary according to scale because of different physical constraints, etc.

Across them all I want the mechanism to:
1) Fall to Stop when power is removed just like the prototype
2) Draw significant current (less than 100ma) only when changing position
3) Draw very little current (less than 10 ma) to hold it in Approach or Clear
Regards,

Chuck Hackett, UP Northern 844, Mich-Cal Shay #2
Owner, MiniRail Solutions, RR Signal Systems (http://www.MiniRailSolutions.com)
"By the work, One knows the workman"

Post Reply