Steamed Hams

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Tom Miller

Steamed Hams

Post by Tom Miller »

I have been an amateur radio (HAM) operator since 1968. I seem to recall a group called steamed hams that got together once a week to talk steam on the air. Does anyone know if they are still around?
Tom Miller
K7YMX
cbrew

Re: Steamed Hams

Post by cbrew »

No, but i would be interested also,
kf7kxz
If it is not live steam. its not worth it.
PRR5406

Post by PRR5406 »

Interesting connection here. I know so many live steamers that carry amateur radio licenses. Must be a desire to learn the technology and keep moving.

Dick, N1MDZ
"Always stopping my train, and risking my ankles, with American made, New Balance sneakers."
cbrew

Post by cbrew »

this may give me a reason to re-spark my interest in amateur radio,
i shut them down when the 2m bands started sounding like the average cb channel and the no one seems to bat an eye.
If it is not live steam. its not worth it.
hammermill

Post by hammermill »

i have been having fun with the digital bands world wide from a tablet. hihi n7fiv
rrnut-2

Post by rrnut-2 »

My wife, KB1TOX, and I are on the 2m band a lot.

I have to fix the HF antenna lead wire and then we can get back on to HF. The wire was a little too low and she caught
it with the 2m antenna on my car. :o

Jim B
KB1TOW
DianneB

Post by DianneB »

Also one, just not active.

VE4DI
James Powell

Post by James Powell »

Another (inactive) one here- VE7LGO. Granddad was one too- as well as John Crook, and probably lots of others. I think they all tie together, and have tied together, within ones brainspace of what we as people find interesting. I had a little handheld, that went missing ~2 years ago, and I haven't been active since then. I used to listen in mostly on WARA here on the island, and I use radios enough at work to be comfortable with them.

James Powell
reubenT

Post by reubenT »