viton o rings

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: Harold_V, WJH, cbrew

Post Reply
hoppercar
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:09 pm

viton o rings

Post by hoppercar » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:57 am

are viton o rings good for steam?....I always thought they were ?... looking in the Msc catalog, it says viton rings, are good for 400 degrees but not recommended for steam?... epdm o rings are only good for 300 degrees, and are recommended for steam.......

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5470
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: viton o rings

Post by Bill Shields » Tue Jul 16, 2019 8:43 am

yes they are...been using them for years.

INSIDE the smokebox (as in a seal for the superheater flange, I tend to use silicon instead.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

AnthonyDuarte
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:46 am
Location: Mountain View, CA
Contact:

Re: viton o rings

Post by AnthonyDuarte » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:13 am

Viton works fine in most cases, but AFLAS is better. 80 Durometer is good to 450 degrees, and is recommended for steam by the manufacture. Viton is not.

hoppercar
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:09 pm

Re: viton o rings

Post by hoppercar » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:48 am

where do you find these aflas o rings?.....I haven't seen that material listed in msc or McMaster carr?

AnthonyDuarte
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:46 am
Location: Mountain View, CA
Contact:

Re: viton o rings

Post by AnthonyDuarte » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:51 am

They’re available from both. Just enter AFLAS in the search bar and they’ll come up.

steamingdon
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:21 pm
Location: massachusetts,usa

Re: viton o rings

Post by steamingdon » Fri Jul 19, 2019 7:37 am

Viton O rings will work fine, and so will buna. The amount of use (steam it will see) is minimum. :D
steamer

User avatar
19copythree
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:22 pm
Location: Long Island, N.Y.

Re: viton o rings

Post by 19copythree » Fri Jul 19, 2019 8:40 am

Don, isn't there a fellow we know, up in Canada, that uses corn silk for piston rings?

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5470
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: viton o rings

Post by Bill Shields » Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:00 am

CORN SILK?

They must grow very different corn up there in Canada than I do here in eastern USA
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

User avatar
19copythree
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 9:22 pm
Location: Long Island, N.Y.

Re: viton o rings

Post by 19copythree » Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:13 am

inside joke...

piedmontg
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Hills of Illinois

Re: viton o rings

Post by piedmontg » Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:46 am

For those who are using an O-Ring are you using the O-ring machining tables for cylinder OD and piston groove OD?

Thanks

Bob

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 5470
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: viton o rings

Post by Bill Shields » Tue Jul 23, 2019 9:30 am

It deoends on if the ring is static or dynamic.
Too many things going on to bother listing them.

piedmontg
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Hills of Illinois

Re: viton o rings

Post by piedmontg » Tue Jul 23, 2019 2:00 pm

I was not clear enough, its being used on the piston so I guess that means it is dynamic, the tables I have seen specify those two conditions. My question was for those who have used O rings in their locomotives, did they just use the tables or did they modify the actual wall pressure by changing the gland OD or cylinder ID. For example using a 127 O Ring one table (Parker) calls out a 1.441 gland OD and a 1.616 cylinder ID. The question is has actual experience dictated a different set of numbers.

I use O Rings on Hit and Miss models. I and others have, from experience, modified the wall pressure with real excellent results.

Steam of course is going to act differently so just curious as this is my first try with steam.

Thanks

Bob

Post Reply