Run out of steam pressure after 100 feet

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Drprez

Run out of steam pressure after 100 feet

Post by Drprez »

I recently acquired a little Engine American and I’m new to this hobby

it was stored for many years so we got it we went through and did some lubricating stuff but we’re so green at operating it we’re not sure what’s going on all the things once we get it moving.

The boiler pressure test great no leaks we have safety valves checked good running at 120 psi boiler up

1) We get it moving but then we weren’t out of steam and it goes down to about 50 psi after about 100 to 200 feet why or where are we losing of the steam?

2) it sounds like a lot is coming out of the smokestack but What am I to look for ?

when we pressure tested or air test it no leaks coming out of anything. if I put it up on blocks it runs fine it doesn’t have any lag or stick.

3) so once I get moving how do I keep the steam pressure up so I can keep going without running out of steam ?

4) I keep the fire no problem I’m using propane but how do I keep the steam pressure to be able to go say a mile or two not 100 feet can somebody please help me?

5) What boiler pressure should we be running it out we’re running at 120 psi

6) what should the water level Be at we currently running at about 3/4 gauge glass

7) how long is the water in the boiler last for us to use if we’re running at full capacity how often do after but water in the boiler

Here is a link if it running on air with front open not sure if this air coming out is normal or not

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vvOBMN ... p=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1cAjUEZ ... p=drivesdk

And here is a link of it running the short distance that it does

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wufu9d ... p=drivesdk

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1DC-p-z ... p=drivesdk