Machining Cylinders - How to Do?

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

dampfmann

Machining Cylinders - How to Do?

Post by dampfmann »

Hello,

I purchased a set of cylinders for my 3/4" scale A3 0-4-0 from John at Friends Models Yankee Workshop. This is my first time machining locomotive cylinders and I would like to complete the process without having to purchase another cylinder. (Sorry, John.)

I searched YouTube and this forum, but didn't find much depicting how to machine cylinders with slide valves and this scale. The information I found dealt with larger cylinders with piston valves.

I am wondering where to begin? Should I start with facing the cylinder and drilling and boring or should I mill the valve and frame-side faces?

Thanks for your input and suggestions.

Marty

(I inserted the picture both up-side-right and up-side-down and got the same up-side-down results. Sorry about that.)
IMG_4536 (1).jpg
gwrdriver

Re: Machining Cylinders - How to Do?

Post by gwrdriver »

Marty,
How you do it kind of depends upon what machine capacity you have, but in general I would begin by facing the mounting (to the frame) surface, followed by the valve face, and then locate the bore relative to those surfaces. I would finish the cylinder end faces by mounting the casting on a chucked mandrel turned to fit the bore. YMMV
GWRdriver
Nashville TN
RickBarb

Post by RickBarb »