Recent Forum Member

This forum is dedicated to the Live Steam Hobbyist Community.

Moderators: cbrew, Harold_V

Mike Green

Recent Forum Member

Post by Mike Green »

Greetings, I had read quite a few posts after being introduced to this Forum by Carrdo last year and was finally inspired to join by Jack B's large scale postings. Turns out I know quite a few members and would like to meet a lot more.
The last several months have been intense, no time for modelling as I decided to retire from "work", our two Sons came home for a short visit over Christmas and the trauma of cleaning out 23+ years of stuff (junk) from my Office space. I'm a Marine Engineer, after sailing all over the Northern Hemisphere and Great Lakes of North America I became a Ship Inspector for the Canadian Federal Government. My retirement lasted three days and now after "spitting up the anchor I once swallowed" I'm back babysitting a 730' long vessel with an 11000hp Diesel in the basement.
A Marine Engineer by day and a Model Engineer by night. I've been into steam all this time, from a 23800hp Steam Turbine Tanker to a 1/2" scale 2.5" gauge 4-4-4T that needs restoration and sort out it's heritage. I have a George Tapping built 1" scale 0-6-0T and a 2.5" scale SHAY under construction for 7.5" gauge. Traction Engines are also an interest, I have a 1/4 size Sawyer-Massey under construction. Running and maintaining this "job" will keep me busy for a while but eventually some parts will be fabbed onboard and fitted at home. We have access to the internet, sat. tv and other comforts of home that were not available years ago. The old "mail call' is now replaced by "ding" here comes another E-mail. The world sure has changed.

Mike
Marty_Knox

Post by Marty_Knox »

Welcome aboard Mike! Good to see you posting here.
steamin10

Post by steamin10 »

hey -de -ho Neighbor!