Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

User avatar
Dave_C
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Springfield. MO.

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Postby Dave_C » Thu Jun 16, 2016 1:09 pm

Jared,

There must be differences in our versions as mine only had the drop down for Mill!

Dave C.
I learn something new every day! Problem is I forget two.

User avatar
Comstock-Friend
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:05 am
Location: Sun Valley, California

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Postby Comstock-Friend » Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:07 pm

Fusion 360 users: Over the years I've drawn up quite a few AutoCad 2D drawings for my various projects. Retiring in weeks :D and my 'gold watch' is a Tormach PCNC 1100. Looks like Fusion 360 is in my future.

Building 1870's live steam locomotives requires a lot of 2.5D type of parts.

Can I import my 2D *.dwg or *.dxf parts into Fusion and then extrude them to depth??? Seems like that would be a logical thing to want to do...

John

V8 BUG
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:10 pm
Location: Great White North

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Postby V8 BUG » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:16 am

For sure you can. John Saunders (NYC CNC) has a great YouTube channel and has a segment called Fusion Fridays that is very helpful. Autodesk also has Lars Christensen sp? Channel on YouTube that is also a great help.
BUILDING IT IS MORE FUN THAN BUYING IT

User avatar
Bill Shields
Posts: 4803
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:57 am
Location: Somewhere in the World
Contact:

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Postby Bill Shields » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:15 am

This is one way:

http://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360 ... b82c5.html

In short: INSERT PULL DOWN MENU -> INSERT DXF

If you are going to mill on a 3 axis mill, it will help of you:

1> put it on the XY plane with Z+ up
2> put the 0,0 of the DXF file where you want the 0,0 of the program to be.
3> orient the DXF as you want it on the mill

These steps are not critical since it all can be changed later...just saves you a step or 3.

Note that if your DXF has problems and 'closed contours' are not really closed (open gaps or ends not touching), you will have problems making a solid (extruding) and will have to sort it out.

User avatar
Comstock-Friend
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:05 am
Location: Sun Valley, California

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Postby Comstock-Friend » Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:24 am

Thanks guys! Been watching NYC CNC for a couple of weeks now, but haven't downloaded Fusion 360 yet. Saw him import a SolidWorks file, but not a 2D *.dwg or *.dxf file. Looks like that will save me some time not having to redraw everything!

John

User avatar
Comstock-Friend
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:05 am
Location: Sun Valley, California

Re: Anybody have experience with Autodesk's Fusion 360?

Postby Comstock-Friend » Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:27 am

Bill Shields wrote:Note that if your DXF has problems and 'closed contours' are not really closed (open gaps or ends not touching), you will have problems making a solid (extruding) and will have to sort it out.


Not a problem Bill. I fired my last 'designer' years ago that made drawings like that! Everything will 'hold water'.

John


Return to “Home Shop CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests