Ball Screw Question

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

justasking

Ball Screw Question

Post by justasking »

All, I am fairly new to the CNC world and I have a small CNC lathe. The machine uses Mach4 with stepper motors and 16mm ball screw on the Z axis and 12 mm on the x axis. When I try to calibrate the axis's I get inconsistent measurements on the travelled distance. I usually move in .1000 increments with a dial indicator measuring the distance to compare what the machine think it did versus reality.
one movement of .1000" may be right on the next might be .003 over then the other may be .004" under. It is all over the place. Can ball screws be that far off? Could this be a problem with Mach 4, the motion controller or am being over critical.
I appreciate any insight. Thank You.

J
SteveHGraham

Re: Ball Screw Question

Post by SteveHGraham »

Have you looked into the issue of losing steps? I am having the same problem, and this is where I was told to look. I haven't found the bug yet.
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.
justasking

Post by justasking »

I thought about loosing steps, but in some instances the distance grows and I would not expect that with loosing steps. Not much, but .002-.004 makes me scratch my head.
Dave_C

Post by Dave_C »

Ok, in order to get Mach 3 or 4 to do a decent ball screw calibration you need to move at least 1.000"!

This will help take out some of the ball screw error as the resulting calculation will be over a larger area thus reducing some of the error.

I used Roton rolled ball screws on my lathe setup and was able to get my X axis to zero error over the full 8" of travel. The first 12" of Z is good as well but the screw has some error past that. Not a problem as any part over 12" usually isn't that critical on the length.