Why not to Buy Cheap Jet CNC Mill?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

SteveHGraham

Post by SteveHGraham »

I feel like I need to try to pick up a CNC mill during the next year or two. I have questions.

First thing...I do not want to build my own mill. I converted a mini-lathe, and while it was fun, the end product was not a great machine. I've seen conversions on various websites, and they all seem like crap to me. "I've been working on my converted Grizzly for 3 years, and I finally have the backlash down to twenty thousandths." Doesn't sound good.

It looks like Tormach and Haas are popular, but they are not all that cheap. Somewhere not far from $30K to get going, with the Haas costing more than a Tormach. These machines have small work areas.

I noticed that Jet makes CNC knee mills. These are not that expensive. You can put one in your garage for under $20K. Naturally, I'm wondering: why do people buy little Tormachs and Haases if they can get 9x49 CNC knee mills for less. I'm sure there are lots of good reasons.

What are those reasons?
Every hard-fried egg began life sunny-side up.
Ianagos

Post by Ianagos »

At least one I have is show me a knee mill with an atc.

But a lot of people grab the tormach I think because it can be moved with a engine hoist (good luck moveing a Bridgeport with one) and they are faster as well as upgradable as you go. So they start at about 20k then you can add a power drawbar and later an atc. They are also better at marketing and support.