Autocon Delta 40 setup

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

Post Reply
Russ Hanscom
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: Farmington, NM

Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by Russ Hanscom » Tue Jun 01, 2021 5:24 pm

Having a problem with an Autocon, Delta 40 system. An early error, intermittent, is "No Signal". The bootup is a bit slow, and there are two endings. One indicates a reset is necessary, and the panel reset has no effect. The second is a halt midway through with the instruction to press "F1" or "Del" and run setup.

The panel, semi standard CNC, has neither an "F1" key or a "Del" key. I have pressed most of the keys without result.

The manuals I have do not cover this, they assume an operating machine.

Dynapath Autocon is not responding to phone or email.

I have had this machine for a number of years and it has worked, up until a week or so ago, I need to know how to get behind the curtain and run setup or whatever.

Might add that I have the Customer Information Manual, which covers basic operation and programing. There is also a Technical Information Manual which may, or may not, address deeper, or basic items. If anyone has a TIM, I would appreciate knowing that.

Thanks

User avatar
GlennW
Posts: 7036
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:23 am
Location: Florida

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by GlennW » Tue Jun 01, 2021 7:21 pm

Talk to Richard.

https://www.partsandsmartsinc.com/contact.htm

Be patient, these guys are a bit older, but they know this equipment.
Glenn

Operating machines is perfectly safe......until you forget how dangerous it really is!

Russ Hanscom
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: Farmington, NM

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by Russ Hanscom » Tue Jun 01, 2021 9:21 pm

Thanks

Russ Hanscom
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: Farmington, NM

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by Russ Hanscom » Sun Aug 29, 2021 10:26 am

An update, not necessarily progress. The controller was sent off to them on July 1, arriving on the 7th per UPS tracking. The guy(s) are probably older than I am and not good at communicating. Finally got a report that the controller was now functioning properly, having replaced the mother board and some memory. Total charge $1450. It arrived back here on Aug 27 and I installed it and powered up. Essentially the same set of error messages; which I have documented and sent to them in an email. Will call on Monday and hope to get a clue. Still faced with the original issue of a message that says hit any key to continue; but no key generates an action.

Russ Hanscom
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: Farmington, NM

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by Russ Hanscom » Mon Aug 30, 2021 5:35 pm

After some discussion, and a few attempts, I decided that the Emergency Stop button had an issue, found a bad connection on that. After reviewing the startup procedures, and getting all of the resets reset in the correct order, I have motion in all axis. Should be able to resume normal operations.
Last edited by Russ Hanscom on Fri Sep 03, 2021 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
NP317
Posts: 3259
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:57 pm
Location: Northern Oregon

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by NP317 » Mon Aug 30, 2021 9:09 pm

A relief to hear you resolved your operating problem.
Another job well done.
RussN

Harold_V
Posts: 19111
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 11:02 pm
Location: Onalaska, WA USA

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by Harold_V » Tue Aug 31, 2021 1:33 am

Well done, Russ. I hope I can resolve the issues I have with my Haas just as easily.

H
Wise people talk because they have something to say. Fools talk because they have to say something.

Russ Hanscom
Posts: 1883
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 11:10 pm
Location: Farmington, NM

Re: Autocon Delta 40 setup

Post by Russ Hanscom » Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:32 am

The frustrating issue with this kind of stuff, is that one is totally clueless, and it is really hard to do any type of diagnostic. Talk about a mysterious black, or in this case aluminum, box. And in my case, I have to stand on a ladder to look into the box!

Post Reply