Has anyone ever heard or use Unimat 1 Classic?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

pwanghk

Has anyone ever heard or use Unimat 1 Classic?

Post by pwanghk »

Hi all,

I am a beginner and want to make two simple pieces like this one in Aluminum (either 9.8 or 12.5 Dia.) http://www.sphosting.com/pwanghk/ProE/rglightatach.jpg Since I have no clue how to make this thing with a lathe, milling machine and for many reason, space for one (living in an appartment), money saving (don't use much to justify a heavy investment), I don't want to spent more than $300 for the equipment. I find this little toy Unimat 1 Classic at www.thecooltool.com and wonder if anyone has either heard or use it in the past. If so, what do you think of it. Will it be able to cut Aluminum rod 12.5 Dia. max.? Any kind of feedback is greatly appreciated.

Please use cut and paste the picture link instead of clicking directly on it.

Advance thanks for your time and help.
davestea

Re: Has anyone ever heard or use Unimat 1 Classic?

Post by davestea »

I think you are going to have trouble using this WOOD machine to make your part out of aluminum.

Suggest you look into a used Sherline lathe - your budget does not give you much room to play with. Have you looked in to having them made by a machinist?
Dave
Smithy 3in1, Select Mill, Atlas 6" lathe
GeorgeGaskill

You will be way ahead financially to pay someone..

Post by GeorgeGaskill »

to make these. If the diameter were 12.7mm (.500") you could do all the work on a mill only but if the 12.5/9.8 diameter is required, you will need a lathe unless you try turning it in the mill (possible but not the usual way of doing things.) Even having it made here and sent to you would be way cheaper than $300US.

Also your drawing needs to size and locate the holes.
jutz

Post by jutz »