DRO output for CNC - basic question(s)?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

Dale Grice

DRO output for CNC - basic question(s)?

Post by Dale Grice »

Hi, newbie here.

I have a Bridgeport series I mill. I would like to install a DRO. Wile I dream of a CNC install, that would be in the future. I have learned by reading that a DRO output can be used as an secondary input to CNC.

When shopping for a DRO system, are all capable of doing this? Is there a "term" for this interface? Was leaning toward yadro. Thoughts? Suggestions on which DRO to dive into the waters with?

Thanks,

Dale Grice
Projects:

1.6 CB&Q O1a Mikado
1.6 CB&Q NE7 Waycar

RR Supply 90 ton Logging Mikado
sch

Re: DRO output for CNC - basic question(s)?

Post by sch »

You may or may not be aware that a cnc system is its own DRO, ie the computer/software can use the pulses generator by or for an axis
drive motor either stepper or digital servo to give you a measurement of axis motion so later install of the cnc makes the dro redundant.
Possibly a consideration at the start as even cheap dro are $300+ or ++ or good dro perhaps $1000 or so. Yadro is a primtive variant on
this cnc as dro approach using the cheap far eastern scales, but it is only a little step up to using the CNC software with the motors to
do the same.
toddalin

Post by toddalin »

sch wrote:You may or may not be aware that a cnc system is its own DRO, ie the computer/software can use the pulses generator by or for an axis
drive motor either stepper or digital servo to give you a measurement of axis motion so later install of the cnc makes the dro redundant.

Ever heard the saying that a man with two watches never knows what time it is?