Draw the jig or the cut?

This forum is dedicated to those Hobbyists Interested in CNC machining & 3D Printing in their home shops. (Digital Read Outs are also topical, as is CAD/CAM as it relates to CNC)

Moderator: Harold_V

hobgobbln

Draw the jig or the cut?

Post by hobgobbln »

I have zero experience with CNC but decided to bite the bullet and convert my bench top mill because I can't keep up with the demand for a particular part I have been making. I'm waiting on the ball screws and electronics to ship and wanted to get a jump on design process.

First thing I need to make is a jig for holding a bunch of round disks. It will look similar to a brake line flaring block. The purpose is to face a number of disks all at once, flip them over, drop the head and bring them to final thickness. I plan to use the same jig for other ops as well but I'm baby stepping this as I learn.

Am I better off drawing the positive of the jig or the negative? Having a hard time wrapping my head around the CAM side.

In other words, do I draw what I want to be left with or what I want cut away?

Griz
Dave_C

Re: Draw the jig or the cut?

Post by Dave_C »

Griz,

From what I have seen it depends on your CAM software.

Some CAM software can take the part drawing and make a fixture from it. If you don't have that feature, then program the program for the jig, where the part will fit, as a pocket.

Real easy if it is a cirlce or disk as I think I read you are working with.

Dave C.
I learn something new every day! Problem is I forget two.
Marty_Escarcega
Site Admin

Post by Marty_Escarcega »

hobgobbln wrote:I have zero experience with CNC but decided to bite the bullet and convert my bench top mill because I can't keep up with the demand for a particular part I have been making. I'm waiting on the ball screws and electronics to ship and wanted to get a jump on design process.