How to make very tight cylider / piston clearances ?

This Forum is dedicated to the Hobbyist I.C. (Internal Combustion) Engine Community.

Moderators: JackF, Harold_V

xtal_01

How to make very tight cylider / piston clearances ?

Post by xtal_01 »

OK ... I am a semi retired machinist (first post)

In the "real world" almost everything I worked on was large ... sometimes very large. You could park 4 cars on the bed of the vertical lathe we had (this was at Westinghouse Generator and Turbine in Hamilton Ontario).

When required to do accurate work, I had access to extremely expensive equipment ($250K wire EDM at Westinghouse Nuclear in SC).

So now I am setting up a new home shop (have 3500 sq ft of concrete poured) ... I have the usual in storage ... a couple of older vertical mills, lathes, band saw, welders .... I hope to get a few more once the shop is up (upgraded lathe ... shaper ... horizontal mill ....)

I have been thinking about projects once I get the shop finished.

One that came to mind was a small 2 stroke diesel (model airplane type ... like a Mills).

I am still looking for a full set of plans but the one thing I did find was an original drawing of the cylinder / piston.

According to an article I found: Of more interest is the dimensions and tolerances specified. For example, the bore was to be 0.497 ±0.0005" before nitriding (hardening) and grinding, after which it was to be 0.500" ±0.0001". The skirt, which needs to be a close fit in the crankcase to prevent leakage between transfer and exhaust, was to be ground to 0.5993", plus 0.0005", minus 0.0000"! These are fine tolerances for a mass produced model engine and a credit to Mills quality.

I know people make copies of this engine at home ... how? Do you guys have cylindrical grinders (capable of ID and OD) or ????

I am not even sure how you would measure this without an air gauge .... and maybe on a one off that is not necessary as long as you have a "good" fit.