Rotary valved engines

This Forum is dedicated to the Hobbyist I.C. (Internal Combustion) Engine Community.

Moderators: JackF, Harold_V

Ben91069

Rotary valved engines

Post by Ben91069 »

Hi all, I am a newb here, but not as a machinist.

I have been researching developing a roatary valved engine lately. I first came up with the idea back in 1993, but found out that the idea was an old one with a new twist. The biggest drawback using a rotary valve is combustion chamber sealing. Coates Engines has produced working cylinder heads with rotary valves even back then and currently are ready to mass produce them even for some north american manufacturers.

The rotary valve requires a "dry seal" in order to operate. Engine oil required for a valve shaped like a rotating cylinder exposed to the combustion chamber needs lubricated and this mean OIL. Well, I knew you needed something like a ceramic and this is exactly what is being done.

My current idea is to modify the Coates design to allow for a mechanical system for adjustable valve timing. I also would like to know if anyone has experience in grinding industrial grade ceramic, especially silicon nitride using diamond wheels, or anything similar.

My hope is to develop a prototype design, then refine and apply it to a one cylinder, four stroke engine.
Your AD here for $29.95
Steve Nuttall

Post by Steve Nuttall »

I diamond grind Ceramic
We do ball valves for extreme locations

Last one has a 1/2" thick ceramic seeve bonded inside a standard 3" ball valve; then 2 ceramic seats were radius ground and lapped to seal; the ball was 316 stainless steel HVOF sprayed with Tungsten Carbide (0.01 coat) this is also ground and lapped; the thick liner was already in place before grinding the ball; so it was also part of the seal off

Grinding ceramic with a diamond cup wheel is not hard; just spray water on it to keep dust and heat down
magic9r

Post by magic9r »

Why rotary valved?

Post by Guest »